Nika Roza Danilova, better known as on-the-verge synth-pop artist Zola Jesus, has announced her second full-length album, Conatus, which comes out October 4 on Sacred Bones. The album’s title is Latin for effort and is a metaphysical term that refers to something’s innate drive to continue to enhance itself. According to Danilova’s camp, the album’s title aptly describes Zola Jesus’ chilly electronic sound that takes cues in equal part from classical, industrial and goth influences.

The album’s lead single, “Vessel,” mashes clanking electronic percussion against held-out piano chords and Danilova’s austere, threnodic vocals, culminating with a rush of noise and static near the end. Stream it above, or download it here, and check out the rest of the record’s tracklist below.

Tracklist For Conatus:
01. Swords
02. Avalanche
03. Vessel
04. Hikikomori
05. Ixode
06. Seekir
07. In Your Nature
08. Lick The Palm Of The Burning Handshake
09. Shivers
10. Skin
11. Collapse