Trevor Powers will release his sophomore album as Youth Lagoon on March 5 via Fat Possum. We first heard from Powers back in 2011 prior to the release of his debut LP, The Year Of Hibernation, when the then-22-year-old had only three tracks out. He told CMJ at the time that much of his songwriting inspiration was rooted in his “bad anxiety,” a surprise considering the layout of his psychedelic pop songs, which begin timidly only to explode in a confident climax.
Powers’s new album is titled Wondrous Bughouse, and he said in a press release that “a lot of this record was influenced by a fear of mortality but embracing it at the same time. Realizing that human life is only great because it is temporary.” No singles from the upcoming release have been revealed yet, but you can dive back into the kaleidoscopic “Cannons” from his 2011 album, and see the Bughouse tracklist, below.

Tracklist For Wondrous Bughouse:
01. Through Mind And Back
02. Mute
03. Attic Doctor
04. The Bath
05. Pelican Man
06. Dropla
07. Sleep Paralysis
08. Third Dystopia
09. Raspberry Cane
10. Daisyphobia