After a four-year wait since It’s Blitz!, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs have announced they will release their fourth studio album, Mosquito, on April 16 via Interscope. David Sitek of TV On The Radio and Nick Launay have again teamed to produce the new album for the group with James Murphy handling one of the tracks as well.
While their 2009 output featured a glossier finish, generating amped-up dance floor regulars like “Zero” and “Heads Will Roll,” Karen O explains with Mosquito, “We took a more playful, lo-fi approach to songwriting… Much of the music was demoed in our little basement studio in Manhattan with drum machines, a shitty sample keyboard and tons of delay.” Interestingly, the album will also feature an appearance from everybody’s favorite extraterrestrial, time-traveling gynecologist, Dr. Octagon (aka Kool Keith).
Check out the Mosquito trailer below and feel free to speculate on how its April 16 release date is a nice fit for upcoming festival lineup announcements—just sayin’!