Wooden Shjips (that’s pronounced “shyips,” folks) has signed to Thrill Jockey Records. The minimalist, psychedelic band will release a new album, called West, on August 16. It is the group’s first studio-recorded album—all of its previous albums have been DIY, self-recorded endeavors.

Formed in 2006, Wooden Shjips has gone from being relatively unknown to a leader in the California experimental scene in only a few short years. The band will tour the West Coast in support of the album West in August. Dates will be announced soon.

Tracklist For West:
01. Black Smoke Rise
02. Crossing
03. Lazy Bones
04. Home
05. Flight
06. Looking Out
07. Rising