The Chicago-based alternative rock band Wilco has unveiled its first single, “I Might,” off of the upcoming The Whole Love, due out in September on dBpm. The Whole Love will be the band’s eighth studio album, following Wilco (The Album), which was released in 2009.

A grinding bass guitar takes the lead on this song, swapping its typical background role with a chirpy organ, a dry acoustic guitar and the sporadic noise of an electric. Jeff Tweedy punches out the vocals, giving the melodic tune a percussive sound, which is obviously enhanced by the stellar drumming of Glenn Kotche. The track will appear on a 7-inch single that will be released on July 19. Stream “I Might” below.

Wilco – I Might by ListenBeforeYouBuy