Stephen Malkmus And The Jicks are busy prepping their sixth studio album and follow-up to 2011’s Mirror Traffic, Wig Out At Jagbags, for release on January 7 via Matador. In advance of that, the ever-busy band has shared a visual for the LP’s lead single, Lariat.
It’s a catchy little garage ditty featuring sugary guitar riffs and Malkmus’s tortured nerd vocals, and the video is equally sweet. The clip is a lyric video of sorts, except the lyrics are translated into French, as it follows a woman (whose friends aren’t Malkmus fans, I guess) listening to the song. Check it out along with the tracklist for Wig Out At Jagbags, below.

Tracklist For Wig Out At Jagbags:
01. Planetary Motion
02. The Janitor Revealed
03. Lariat
04. Houston Hades
05. Shibboleth
06. J Smoov
07. Rumble At The Rainbo
08. Chartjunk
09. Independence Street
10. Scattegories
11. Cinnamon and Lesbians
12. Surreal Teenagers