new basement tapes screen grab
On November 11, Electromagnetic Recordings and Harvest Records will release the the T-Bone Burnett-produced compilation Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes. The compilation follows the precedent set by Billy Bragg and Wilco‘s Mermaid Avenue project, Jim James, Jay Farrar, Will Johnson and Anders Parker’s New Multitudes project, both of which unearthed previously unknown Woody Guthrie lyrics and set them to music. The New Basement Tapes, takes a similar approach to a batch of previously unheard Bob Dylan lyrics, put to music through a collaborative effort by My Morning Jacket’s Jim James, Elvis Costello, Marcus Mumford of Mumford & Sons, Rhiannon Giddens of the Carolina Chocolate Drops, and Dawes’ Taylor Goldsmith. The star-studded group tackles a batch of songs coming from Dylan’s famously prolific 1967 Basement Tapes era, during which he is said to have written and recorded over a hundred songs with the band. Though many of these songs were re-recorded by The Band on Music From Big Pink, or released in 1975 on The Basement Tapes compilation, a great number of them remain completely undocumented.
Burnett, Costello and company’s New Basement Tapes will make their contribution to the basement tapes legend, and today we have been offered the first audible taste of the project. Nothing To It, fronted primarily by Jim James, is a galloping, clever little tune featuring some typically-Dylan sentiments and linguistic gymnastics. The song comes accompanied by a brand new illustrated lyric video, which offers the viewer some interesting insights into how these particular lyrics morphed into song.
Check out the video for Nothing To It, as well as the full tracklist for Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes (featuring some very Dylan song titles) below.

Tracklist For Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes:
01. Down On The Bottom
02. Married To My Hack
03. Kansas City
04. Spanish Mary
05. Liberty Street
06. Nothing To It
07. Golden Tom – Silver Judas
08. When I Get My Hands On You
09. Duncan and Jimmy
10. Florida Key
11. Hidee Hidee Ho #11
12. Lost On The River #12
13. Stranger
14. Card Shark
15. Quick Like A Flash
16. Hidee Hidee Ho #16
17. Diamond Ring
18. The Whistle Is Blowing
19. Six Months In Kansas City (Liberty Street)
20. Lost On The River #20