Photo by Graham Tolbert

The Philadelphia-based indie rock band the War On Drugs has finally answered back after the highly acclaimed release of its debut LP Wagonwheel Blues in 2008. Frontman Adam Granduciel’s Americana arrangements will return with the announcement of the release of the band’s full-length sophomore album, Slave Ambient, due August 16 via Secretly Canadian. Joining Granduciel on the album are multi-instrumentalists Dave Hartley and Robbie Bennett, and drummer Mike Zanghi. Slave Ambient was recorded over the last four years in Granduciel’s home studio and is expected to offer an interesting combination of folk-rock guitars and electronic synthesizers, slingshotting the simplistic roots of the band’s sound into the modern era.

Along with the announcement of the upcoming album, the War On Drugs has also released a single titled “Baby Missiles” available to download here and streamable below. The track features an epic wall of guitars and festive synthesizers supporting Granduciel’s distorted vocals, all driven by the steady snare drum. Although the inspiration for the track’s sound comes from a relatively simplistic style, the War On Drugs has managed to provide an added depth with the use of guitar and piano ornaments over the three-dimensional electronic atmosphere.

War On Drugs – “Baby Missiles”

Tracklist For Slave Ambient:
01. Best Night
02. Brothers
03. I Was There
04. Your Love Is Calling My Name
05. The Animator
06. Come To The City
07. Come For It
08. It’s Your Destiny
09. City Reprise #12
10. Baby Missiles
11. Original Slave
12. Black Water Falls