Thao Nguyen of Thao With The Get Down Stay Down and solo artist Mirah Yom Tov Zeitlyn have both ditched their last names to collaborate on the forthcoming self-titled album Thao And Mirah, out via Kill Rock Stars on April 26. The two wrote songs respectively, and recorded them together over two weeks last summer with help from Merril Garbus aka Tune-Yards, who acted as co-producer.

Both artists in their own right, Thao (who signed to Kill Rock Stars in 2006 and has released two albums) and Mirah (who has five solo albums to her name) became friends after meeting in San Francisco. For their first album together, the pair handled much of the instrumentation themselves and utilized items such as bottles and knee caps.

Thao and Mirah are teaming up with Air Traffic Control, an organization focused on coordinating artists to create social change, to ensure that the proceeds of this forthcoming release and the duo’s touring efforts will be channeled towards helping causes and organizations that the pair personally supports.

Tracklist For Thao And Mirah:
01. Eleven

02. Folks

03. Little Cup

04. Rubies and Rocks

05. Teeth

06. Spaced Out Orbit

07. How Dare You

08. Sugar and Plastic

09. Likable Man

10. Hallelujah

11. Squareneck