If its native city of Baltimore is any influence on Thank You’s Golden Worry, then it must be an industrial place with cloudy skies and residents running amok in the streets, whether it be from fright or euphoria. Utilizing Dick Dale-like surf guitar staccato picking, the band creates a frenzied sound above steady drum beats accompanied by aggressive yet distant vocals. The use of an often dissonant ’60s-inspired organ adds to the unsettling sound that is Golden Worry.

Though only six tracks long, Thank You’s first full-length album packs a powerful punch with each song generally going a bit above four minutes, giving it enough time to allow listeners to become comfortable before transforming into something different. Despite the overall feeling of chaos evoked by typical noise-rock, this LP does have its lighter, more cheerful moments, though they rarely remain so tranquil. “Continental Divide” sounds excited and indecisive as to whether or not it should make its excitement public, whereas the vocals on “Strange All” sound more like chanting and give the feeling of urgency.

Often repeating the musical patterns they create, Jeffrey McGrath, Michael Buoyoucas and Emmanuel Nicolaidis make music that blends into itself, giving the most discerning listeners a treat in picking out the subtle nuances, whether it be a dissonant, warbling synth or a soft “oooh” from the band members.

Collaborating with J. Robbins and Chris Coady, whose previous work with Yeah Yeah Yeahs shines through in the sound of album’s guitars, Thank You has made an intentionally heavy album that provokes calls for more than a passive ear looking to fill silence. Listeners should expect to involve themselves in music in order to truly find what lies beneath the fuzz and distortion.