A decade after its last release, political post-rock Quebecian cult band Godspeed You! Black Emperor has finally released a new album with a typically wordy title, Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!. Stream the whole thing below, via The Guardian.

Instead of announcing its new album to the press, last week GY!BE decided instead to surprise fans at its most recent show in Boston by simply selling copies of the album on vinyl at the merch stand. On vinyl, the songs are on two separate records: two 20-minute songs that were composed years ago are accompanied by a separate 7″ that features two new six-minute drone tracks. “We Drift Like Worried Fire” is a stunningly beautiful standout track on ADBA, featuring lush melodies and a wandering, transcendental composition.
The songs occasionally refer to Montreal’s recent student protests, including recordings of kids banging pots and pans on the street to raise awareness for their cause. The album won’t be officially released until October 16 (via Constellation), and yes, the vinyl has already sold out.
Tracklist For Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend:
01. Mladic
02. Their Helicopters Sing
03. We Drift Like Worried Fire
04. Strung Like Lights At Thee Printemps Erable