Ahead of its June 24 release date, burgeoning electronic artist Airhead’s debut LP For Years is now available to stream via NPR. Included on the album are last year’s Wait and Pyramid Lake, as well as a collaboration with childhood friend James Blake. Airhead, née Rob McAndrews, began cropping up on musical radars in 2010 when he collaborated with James Blake on Pembroke.
Since then, he’s signed to prestigious R&S Records and toured the globe as Blake’s guitarist. Clearly eager to elevate his craft, McAndrews uses brief samples (like various Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ samples on Wait) and swooning electronics to create complex, swirling, emotional music. Given his previous work with Blake, who’s almost fully immersed in the singer/songwriter world, it’ll be interesting to see where Airhead takes his full-length. From the sound of its leading tracks, we can expect a blend of the acoustic with visceral and synthetic tones. Listen to “Wait,” below, then stream all of For Years at NPR.