Way back in 2007, a little album by the Shins‘ called Wincing The Night Away was all the rage. It debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard charts, spawned a highly successful amphitheater tour and was CMJ’s No. 1 album of the year. Now, five years and a Danger Mouse collab later, James Mercer and company are back. The band will release its fourth LP, Port Of Morrow, this March, on both Aural Apothecary and Columbia.
The forthcoming record will mark the Shins’ departure from longtime label Sub Pop, and the as-yet-unannounced tour dates will feature Mercer along with Crystal Skulls‘ Yuuki Matthews (bass), Jessica Dobson (guitar), singer-songwriter Richard Swift (keyboards) and Modest Mouse‘s Joe Plummer (drums). Greg Kurstin—known for his work with Foster The People and the Flaming Lips—produced the record, so perhaps Port Of Morrow will mark a poppier turn for the band. With tour announcements and more news on the LP slated for the next few weeks, Shins fans will soon find out.

Tracklist For Port Of Morrow:
01. The Rifle’s Spiral
02. Simple Song
03. It’s Only Life
04. No Way Down
05. September
06. Bait And Switch
07. Fall Of ’82
08. For A Fool
09. 40 Mark Strasse
10. Port Of Morrow