Transcending genres in its signature style of blending many different influences to form one unique sound, the Robert Glasper Experiment is slated to release its latest album, Black Radio (Blue Note/EMI) on February 28. The album will be the first full-length album for the Experiment band of Grammy-nominated keyboardist Robert Glasper. The Houston native hosts an impressive list of guests on his latest release, including Erykah Badu, Lupe Fiasco, Mos Def and Bilal—as well as saxophonist Casey Benjamin, bassist Derrick Hodge and drummer Chris Dave as part of the Experiment. Needless to say, Glasper’s first full-length release with the Experiment will be an eclectic mix of collaborations, originals and some surprising cover songs such as Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit” (with vocoder vocals from Benjamin).
Having released his debut Mood (Fresh Sound) in 2003, Glasper is well-known for his masterful juxtaposition of jazz and hip hop, most notably on his 2009 release Double-Booked (Blue Note). The album’s title was quite literal, as Glasper even occasionally played with both bands on the same night. Combining his two bands into one album, Double-Booked earned Glasper his Grammy nod for his skillful merging of two distinct styles and Black Radio promises just as much stylistic harmony with its diverse, star-studded roster.
Tracklist For Black Radio:
01. Lift Off/Mic Check (feat. Shafiq Husayn)
02. Afro Blue (feat. Erykah Badu)
03. Cherish The Day (feat. Lalah Hathaway)
04. Always Shine (feat. Lupe Fiasco & Bilal)
05. Gonna Be Alright (F.T.B.) (feat. Ledisi)
06. Move Love (feat. KING)
07. Ah Yeah (feat. Musiq Soulchild and Chrisette Michele)
08. Consequence Of Jealousy (feat. Meshell Ndegeocello)
09. Why Do We Try (feat. Stokley Williams)
10. Black Radio (feat. Mos Def)
11. Letter To Hermoine (feat. Bilal)
12. Smells Like Teen Spirit