Photo by Bryce Laughlin

On January 31, Psychedelic Horseshit wrote a jubilant Tumblr post titled “We Signed Bitches!!!!!!!” in relation to the band’s signing to Fatcat. After six years of battling in obscurity, “eating out of dumpsters,” and bitching about other lo-fi bands, the group is now happily being cared for by same family that cared for Animal Collective. The Columbus, OH duo of Matt Horseshit (real name?) and Ryan Jewell already has its (horse) shit together and announced the release of the upcoming album, Laced, on May 10.

The band actually had the album recorded and ready to go when it signed to Fatcat—disappointingly (or otherwise) there wasn’t some 20 day-long amphetamine-fueled recording binge or anything. Most of the album was recorded in basements and bathrooms using 40 year-old, beat up reel-to-reel tape, all helping the band stay close to the lo-fi genre that it so pleasantly deemed “shitgaze.” However, the album is apparently much cleaner and more electronic than any of the band’s previous efforts.

Psychedelic Horseshit is currently planning a tour, so stay tuned for more info. The tracklist for Laced is below.

Tracklist for Laced:
01. Pufff Day
02. Time Of Day
03. French Countryside
04. Laced
05. Tropical Vision
06. I Hate The Beach
07. Another Side
08. Revolution Wavers
09. Dead On Arrival
10. Automatic Writing
11. Making Out