Metz @ Cameo Gallery, CMJ 2012 by Adela Loconte

The Polaris Music Prize, the Canadian music award for best album of the year, has released its “Short List” of nominees for this year’s prize. The not-for-profit organization recognizes notable albums and celebrates creativity in Canadian bands that aren’t Rush. Past winners of the award include Feist, Arcade Fire and Fucked Up.
This year’s final ten nominees are:
Godspeed You! Black Emperor – Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!
Metric – Synthetica
Purity Ring – Shrines
Tegan And Sara – Heartthrob
Young Galaxy – Ultramarine
Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite
Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
A Tribe Called Red – II Nation
Whitehorse – The Fate of the World Depends on This Kiss
Commenting on the diversity of Canadian music and this year’s list, Polaris founder and Executive Director Steve Jordan said, “This moody and exciting list is proof that the ‘Canadian sound’ has no stylistic boundaries. In equal measure we welcome the seven rookies and three repeat nominees to this year’s Short List.” The winner of this year’s Polaris Music Prize will be announced at The Polaris Gala on September 23 in Toronto.