Odd Future, the Internet’s favorite controversy-creating hip-hop collective, will release a brand-new group album, OF Tape Vol. 2, on March 20 via the band’s Odd Future label. While 2011 was a turbulent year for the L.A.-based skate-rap crew—the Jimmy Fallon appearance, the Yonkers video, the release of Goblin, the sold-out shows, the New Yorker story, the protests, the VMAs, the arrest—this tape is actually a sequel to 2008’s The Odd Future Tape, from back when the nascent group was just a glint in some youthful, fresh-faced blogger’s Tumblr feed.
The mixtape will include new music from Tyler, The Creator; Hodgy Beats; Frank Ocean; Leftbrain; Domo Genesis; Mike G; Syd The Kyd; and the Internet. Along with the release of the album, the group will embark on a 10-city tour of the nation that will include an Odd Future “pop-up retail store” in every stop. Each show will also feature a screening of the pilot to the group’s Adult Swim comedy show, Loiter Squad, which debuts March 25. ‘Cause in 2012, “synergy” is the new “swag.”
But, wait! There’s more: As previously announced, Tyler, The Creator, will release Wolf, his follow-up to 2011’s Goblin. The OF-affiliated duo MellowHype will also release a new LP of material titled Numbers in the summer.
Watch the now-iconic video for Tyler, The Creator’s “Yonkers” below, and reflect on how simple things were back in the halcyon days of early 2011: