Photo by Chloe Dewe Mathews

South London-born beatmaker Paul White has announced that his upcoming album Rapping With Paul White will be released on August 23 via One Handed. As the title might suggest, Rapping With Paul White adds the lyrical stylings of several different artists including Danny Brown and a poem read by Feist-like folk singer Nancy Elizabeth to his signature instrumental hip-hop, co-signed by the likes of Diplo and Stones Throw. About half the album will feature rapping.

One of the tracks on the album, “Trust” featuring Guilty Simpson, showcases heavy, dark beats with an ambient touch and thug-themed lyrics by Detroit native and Stones Throw artist. White’s beats, heady and intense, match Simpson’s deep voice and reflections on hustling, including his promise that he’s “got you when the shit pops off.” The seamless convergence of White’s beats with Simpson’s rapping suggests that adding lyrics to his music may not distract from or clash with White’s signature style, most thoroughly displayed on his 2009 release The Strange Dreams Of Paul White. CMJ has the exclusive stream; listen to “Trust” below.

Tracklist For Rapping With Paul White:
01. Intro: We Make A Lot Of Noise
02. Right On
03. Trust Feat. Guilty Simpson
04. Run Shit Feat. Marv Won
05. One Of Life’s Pleasures Feat. Danny Brown
06. The Doldrums
07. Life Is Flashing Interlude
08. Stampeding Elephants Feat. Moe Pope
09. Rotten Apples Feat. Tranqill
10. Thirty Days
11. A Weird Day Feat. Homeboy Sandman
12. African New Wave
13. Indigo Glow Feat. Jehst
14. Dirty Slang Feat. Guilty Simpson
15. A New Way
16. Evasive Action
17. Wily Walruses Feat. Nancy Elizabeth
18. Outro: We’ll Never End