Connecticut’s darling mom-and-pop-music duo Mates Of State has wrapped up the recording process for the seventh full-length album Mountaintops, due out September 13 on Barsuk Records. Kori Gardner and Jason Hammel, the married indie couple that is Mates Of State, hired producer/engineer Chris Coady (Beach House, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, TV On The Radio) to mix the album. “[Coady] really lent a lot of space, layers, and depth to these songs,” Hammel told CMJ. “Plus, he mixes at a really high volume which we loved. That’s right, turn this shit UP!” Although Mountaintops is their first collection of original material since Re-arrange Us in 2008 (Barsuk), Mates of State has been hard at work recording the album for the last eighteen months.

Tracklist for Mountaintops:
01. Palomino
02. Maracas
03. Sway
04. Unless I’m Led
05. Total Serendipity
06. Basement Money
07. At Least I Have You
08. Desire
09. Change
10. Mistakes