Listening to Chicago’s Willis Earl Beal may have you feeling like you’ve absorbed a lifetime’s worth of experiences. And that assessment would be about right because Beal definitely has had his fair share of stories gathered throughout the years, spanning from homelessness to busking. And with that kind of life experience comes a soulful touch to his music that’s undeniable.
Beal’s latest single, “Too Dry To Cry,” comes off his upcoming album Nobody knows. and it sounds slightly different from last year’s no-fi debut Acousmatic Sorcery. With access to a proper studio, Beal’s new material has got itself a fresh sheen this time around. The soul man continues to explore themes of alienation in his lyricism as he pleads “Don’t leave me hanging like a spider with no fly/Cause I’ve been banging on the walls because I’m too dry to cry” against the sound of vigorous stomping. We hear you Willis and we won’t leave. Nobody knows. comes out September 10 via XL Records imprint Hot Charity. Listen to “Too Dry To Cry” below.

Tour Dates For Willis Earl Beal:
09/20/2013 – Brussels, BE – AB Club
09/21/2013 – Tilburg, NL – Incubate Festival
09/23/2013 – Amsterdam, NL – MC Theater
09/25/2013 – Berlin, DE – Privatclub
09/26/2013 – Copenhagen, DK – Vega
09/27/2013 – Hamburg, DE – Reeperbahn Festival
09/29/2013 – Zurich, CH – Papiersaal
10/03/2013 – London, UK – St.Giles-in-the-Fields
10/04/2013 – Manchester, UK – Sacred Trinity
10/05/2013 – Bristol, UK – Louisiana
10/07/2013 – Paris, FR – Point FMR
Tracklist For Nobody knows.:
01. Wavering Lines
02. Coming Through (feat. Chan Marshall)
03. Everything unwinds.
04. Burning Bridges
05. Disintegrating
06. Too Dry Too Cry
07. What’s the deal?
08. Ain’t Got No Love
09. White Noise
10. Hole In The Roof
11. Blue Escape
12. Nobody knows.
13. The Flow