Brooklyn’s Widowspeak, having acquired full-time bassist Pamela Garavano-Coolbaugh this year, has spent its time during 2012 touring and recording its upcoming sophomore album, Almanac. The band released its first single “Ballad Of The Golden Hour” off the upcoming record as a stream and free download, as well as the album’s tracklisting. Check it out, below.

The acoustically driven melody, complemented by the innocently sweet voice of singer Molly Hamilton and bouncing guitar riffs, captures the naturalistic ambience of the recording setting perfectly: a time-tested barn located in New York’s Hudson River Valley. The album will be released on January 22 next year via Brooklyn-based Captured Tracks. For now, let Widowspeak’s rustic sound soothe your mind.
Tracklist For Almanac:
01. Perennials
02. Dyed In The Wool
03. The Dark Age
04. Thick As Thieves
05. Almanac
06. Ballad Of The Golden Hour
07. Devil Knows
08. Sore Eyes
09. Locusts
10. Minnewaska
11. Spirit Is Willing
12. Storm King