Jay Reatard

While you’re basking in the aroma of old vinyl sleeves at your favorite record shop on Record Store Day (April 19) this year, you’ll find hardcore label Robotic Empire’s release In Utero: In Tribute among this year’s newest goodies. The album will feature exclusive covers of all 12 In Utero tracks by various artists, including the late Jay Reatard, Ceremony, and Portland’s Mean Jeans. Today, Robotic Empire has debuted two of these covers.
Reatard’s Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle—one of his final recordings before his death in 2010—is a commendable garage-punk cut, and his delivery of the track’s hook stays true to the passion of Cobain’s lyrics. Mean Jeans also kick up the tempo on their blistering rendition of Very Ape. You can check out both tracks, as well as the rest of the album’s lineup below.


Tracklist For In Utero: In Tribute:
01. Pygmy Lush – “Serve the Servants”
02. Circa Survive – “Scentless Apprentice”
03. These Arms Are Snakes – “Heart-Shaped Box”
04. Thursday – “Rape Me”
05. Jay Reatard – “Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle”
06. Young Widows – “Dumb”
07. Mean Jeans – “Very Ape”
08. Thou – “Milk It”
09. Whirr – “Pennyroyal Tea”
10. Daughters – “Radio Friendly Unit Shifter”
11. Ceremony – “Tourette’s”
12. Black Math Horseman – “All Apologies”