Sacramento, CA producer/singer Raleigh Moncrief has signed to Anticon to release his full-length debut, Watered Lawn, October 25. If his name is familiar, it’s likely by way of his co-production on Dirty Projectors’ 2009 album, Bitte Orca. To add to Moncrief’s credentials, he’s also collaborated with Zach Hill and been a member of Marnie Stern’s touring band. With years of audio know-how at his back, Moncrief is finally striking out on his own.
“I Just Saw,” a song from his forthcoming debut streaming below, seems to reflect Moncrief’s experience working on Bitte Orca. His music is a spacious sonic experiment; distant handclaps, the echo of a bass drum, a glitchy synth loop. These elements, accompanied by Moncrief’s falsetto voice and overdubbed chorus, give “I Just Saw” a real sense of space, like the track is expanding.
I Just Saw by raleigh moncrief
“Lament For Morning,” another cut off Watered Lawn, is also below.
Lament For Morning by raleigh moncrief
Tracklist For Watered Lawn:
01. The Air
02. A Day To Die
03. I Just Saw
04. In This Grass
05. Cast Out For Days
06. Lament For Morning
07. The Right Idea
08. Don’t Shoot
09. Time Passed By
10. Waiting For My Brothers Here
11. Mothers