Last week, Portland electro-pop duo The Blow emerged from a seven-year hiatus, announcing a self-titled LP via Kanine to follow up 2006’s adored Paper Television. Today, The Blow have further resurrected themselves, releasing the first cut from that forthcoming album, “Make It Up.”
In the time since releasing Paper Television, The Blow parted ways with lead vocalist Kaela Maricich’s former bandmate Jona Bechtolt (of YACHT), while adding Melissa Dyne to the bill. Despite this shuffling, The Blow don’t miss a beat on “Make It Up”. The track is meticulously crafted and manages to broaden The Blow’s knack for idiosyncratic pop. Built on an unconventional rhythm and swirling synths, Maricich deconstructs orthodox notions of love in favor of—you guessed it—making it up. Check it out, below.