The buzz began way back in 2012 that a group of musicians would be contributing to a compilation album for the AIDS nonprofit Red Hot, as a tribute to the avant garde cellist and composer Arthur Russell. Now that compilation, Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell, finally has a release date set for this October. It features a slew of big-name artists, many of whom owe some influence to Russell’s experimental style, like José González, Devendra Banhart, Phosphorescent, Blood Orange and more.
Sufjan Stevens also makes an appearance on the album with a cover of Russell’s ode to kissing, A Little Lost. While the original is a whispered chamber arrangement, Sufjan’s sounds like something off his recent album The Age Of Adz. Slight, intimate movements burst into big, spastic percussion flares and earlobe-slamming harmonies. It’s pretty great. You can stream the cover, revisit Russell’s original below and scope the compilation’s tracklist after that.


Tracklist For Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell:
01. José González – “This Is How We Walk On The Moon”
02. Lonnie Holley – “Soon-To-Be Innocent Fun (Interlude)”
03. Robyn – “Tell You”
04. Hot Chip – “Go Bang”
05. Sufjan Stevens – “A Little Lost”
06. Lonnie Holley – “In The Light Of The Miracle (Interlude)”
07. Richard Reed Parry, Little Scream, Sam Amidon, Colin Stetson & Sarah Neufeld – “Keeping Up”
08. Liam Finn, Ernie Brooks & Peter Zummo – “This Love Is Crying”
09. Rubblebucket & Nitemoves – “Eli”
10. The Revival Hour – “Hiding Your Present from You”
11. Sam Amidon – “Lucky Cloud”
12. Devendra Banhart – “Losing My Taste For The Night Life”
13. Phosphorescent – “You Can Make Me Feel Bad”
14. Blood Orange – “Is It All Over My Face & Tower Of Meaning”
15. Scissor Sisters – “That’s Us/Wild Combination”
16. VEGA INTL. – “Arm Around You”
17. Oh Mercy – “Planted A Thought”
18. Lonnie Holley – “Hop On Down (Interlude)”
19. Cults – “Being It”
20. Richard Reed Parry – “Just A Blip
21. Glen Hansard – “I Couldn’t Say It To Your Face”
22. Thao & The Get Down Stay Down – “Nobody Wants A Lonely Heart”
23. The Autumn Defense – “Oh Fernanda Why”
24. Alexis Taylor – “Our Last Night Together”
25. Lonnie Holley – “The Deer In The Forest (Interlude)”
26. Redding Hunter – “Close My Eyes”