Brooklyn’s Beach Fossils, originally the solo project of vocalist/guitarist Dustin Payseur, has been out of the public eye for a bit. With the departure of bassist John Peña to focus on his band Heavenly Beat and guitarist Zachary Cole Smith touring constantly with his project DIIV, the fate of Beach Fossils’ second album was a mystery. Today, however, the band released the first track, “Careless,” off the upcoming album, Clash The Truth, due out February 19 via Captured Tracks. Check it out, below.
Beach Fossils // “Careless” by capturedtracks
Much like the tracks on 2011’s What A Pleasure EP, “Careless” possesses a light, airy feel, and Payseur’s vocals still croon with the same sleepy sweetness. Nonetheless, growth can be heard. The tempo, especially in the bassline, carries a fast-paced, punkish feel alongside some more frantic guitar riffs.
If you’re stuck in the city for New Year’s Eve, you can battle through throngs of tourists to catch Beach Fossils’ show with Blonde Redhead at Irving Plaza. Find the full tracklist for the upcoming album, below.
Tracklist For Clash The Truth:
01. Clash the Truth
02. Generational Synthetic
03. Sleep Apnea
04. Careless
05. Modern Holiday
06. Taking Off
07. Shallow
08. Burn You Down
09. Birthday
10. In Vertigo [Feat. Kazu Makino]
11. Brighter
12. Caustic Cross
13. Ascension
14. Crashed Out