It’s unexpected that an electronic album would kick off with a spine-chilling organ number; however, that is exactly how Six Cups Of Rebel, the fourth studio album from Norway’s Hans-Peter Lindstrøm, begins. “No Release,” the five-minute organ opening, was recorded in Lindstrøm’s own studio by combining MIDI-organs and an artificial church organ. The result: a Dracula-like track that develops more and more layers of sound as it goes on, taking the listener from an eerie to a magical space-like world all in one song.
Lindstrøm, clearly going for the unexpected in Six Cups Of Rebel, transitions into more dance, electro-disco tracks like “Magik” where he plays with the drum-beat speed and synth to create a mystical, glittering sound that complements the repeating lyrics “It’s kind of magic.” Lindstrøm usually keeps his own voice out of his recordings, and this very personal addition from the musician is shadowed by the fact that he has played around with the tone, speed and sound of his own voice to make it one with the music. In the track “Quiet Place To Live,” his deep, dark voice, heavy guitar, synth and drumming meld into one danceable song with lyrics atypical for a dance tune: “All I want is a quiet place to live.”
Every track houses out-of-this-world disco tunes, but they don’t blankly transition into each other. Instead, they offer delectable surprises with each change of song. Tracks like “Call Me Anytime” with the quick snare drumming, organ and bizarre background mumbling don’t offer much of a chance to shake the hips, but they do provide a cool escape to the rock-inspired electro-alien world that Lindstrøm has carefully crafted.