A decade after his 2001 release, The Essence Of J Rawls, Ohio-based hip-hop producer J Rawls has announced the release of his newest solo album, The Hip-Hop Affect (Polar Entertainment) for May 17. This release finds the producer collaborating once again with masters of the underground hip-hop world while telling the story of Rawls’ journey.

The Hip-Hop Affect interprets the narrative of the hip-hop genre’s beginnings from a common block-party feature to its growth into the mainstream, as well as Rawls’ own journey in Ohio from Columbus to Cincinnati. Rawls began producing in the early ’90s, helping to launch acts like Black Star, featuring Mos Def and Talib Kweli. Rawls also formed Lone Catalysts with J. Sands, which assisted in bringing independent hip-hop to critics’ attention. Since Rawls’ last release, he’s worked on collaborative projects with fellow Ohio native and rapper Dudley Perkins, while continuing to produce Count Bass D, Masta Ace, Wordsworth and the Beastie Boys among others.

Rawls’ upcoming release reunites him with J. Sands as well as Count Bass D, Rhymefest, Sadat X, members of Tanya Morgan, Copywrite, Bad Azz, Edo G and many more. Check below for the tracklist.

Tracklist For The Hip-Hop Affect:

01. HHA Intro (Feat. Joshy)
02. Best Producer On The Mic (Feat. Diamond D, Oh No and Kev Brown)
03. Face It (Feat. Sadat X and Wise Intelligent)
04. Jewel (Feat. Afaliah)
05. Going Through Records
06. Salute (Feat. Piakhan)
07. Just Rhymin’ With Fest (Feat. Rhymefest)
08. That Very First Day (Feat. Fat Jon)
09. Heeey (Feat. El Da Sensei, John Robinson, LeForTheUncool and Afaliah)
10. Who Am I? (Feat. S.P.I.R.I.T.)
11. Making A Beat
12. Sandsy (Feat. J. Sands)
13. Ya Friends In The Way (Feat. Senor Kaos)
14. Are You Listening? (Feat. Bad Azz, Copywrite and Edo G)
15. Jussy On The Mic
16. Why You Do
17. Find A New (Feat. Casual)
18. Da Beatbox
19. We’re On Top (#OhioTakeOver) (Feat. Count Bass D, Trav Dave, Rashad, Co-City, J Osceola, LeForTheUncool, Stalley, 6S, Tage, Copywrite, Donwill, Donte, Piakhan, Ilyas, Main Flow, JaySwiffa, Jerreau and P Blackk)
20. The Beat’s Done
21. HHA Outro (Joshy Gets It)