Iron And Wine have announced plans to release their fifth full-length, Ghost On Ghost, on April 16 via Nonesuch. This is band’s first album for the label and the follow-up to 2011’s ’70s-FM-radio-influenced pop experiment Kiss Each Other Clean. The new record was produced by Brian Deck, who has worked with Sam Beam since 2004’s Our Endless Numbered Days. You can listen to a track from the new album, “Lovers’ Revolution,” below.
The song finds Beam working in a slightly jazzier variation on Kiss Each Other Clean‘s baroque chamber-pop, making great use of a playful horn section and a game group of background vocalists. One YouTube commenter already compared it to Jethro Tull, and fans will surely gripe about Beam’s continued abandonment of his earlier, hushed troubadour days, but it sounds pretty good to me. “No matter how we chew it/We’d be choking on a compromise,” Beam sings at one point, perhaps telling his detractors to just shut up already. Let Beam do Beam.

Tracklist For Ghost On Ghost:
01. Caught In The Briars
02. The Desert Babbler
03. Joy
04. Low Light Buddy Of Mine
05. Graces For Saints And Ramblers
06. Grass Windows
07. Singers And The Endless Song
08. Sundown (Back In The Briars)
09. Winter Prayers
10. New Mexico’s No Breeze
11. Lovers’ Revolution
12. Baby Center Stage