For a debut pop album, one major collaboration would be a big deal. But not if you’re Petra Haden or Yuka Honda, who have been in the game for more than ten years. The two veterans have come together to form If By Yes, a band that also includes guitarist Hirotaka “Shimmy” Shimizu and drummer Yuko Araki, both of Japanese band Cornelius.

The group’s debut album, Salt On Sea Glass (Chimera) is due out March 22 and features collaborations with the Talking Heads’ David Byrne, Doug Wieselman (saxophonist for Lou Reed), guitarist Nels Cline and leading man of Cornelius, Keigo Oyamada.

Haden and Honda began collaborating in 2002 through a long distance relationship that progressed slowly, as they released their own projects. Haden’s vocal projects Imaginaryland and Petra Haden Sings The Who Sell Out earned her recognition for her harmonies and complex voicings, while the versatile Honda’s experimental electronic albums Yuka Honda Memories Are My Only Witness and found inspiration in jazz, hip hop, funk and pop,

Though predominately pop, Salt On Sea Glass goes beyond the boundaries of the genre, having been written by both Haden and Honda, and incorporate unconventional instruments from clay pots to the basic element of water.

Tracklist for Salt On Sea Glass:
01. You Feel Right

02. Eliza

03. Three As Four

04. Imagino

05. I’m Still Breathing

06. In My Dreams

07. Shadow Blind

08. You’re Something Else

09. Out Of View

10. Lightening In Your Eyes

11. Adrift

12. Night And Day