Legendary New York based label, Fania, has announced that it will be releasing a two disc set of remixed back catalog classics, expertly remixed by New York’s own Joaquin “Joe” Claussell. The first disc of Hammock House ‘Africa Caribe’ features remixed originals from Lou Perez, Cecelia Cruz, Eddie Palmieri, Ray Barretto and more of Fania’s all-stars. The second disc is a live mix that traverses African influence as well as New York sounds. The compilation will be released on May 17, of course, via Fania.

Fania Records was founded in 1964 in New York with the intention of devoting itself strictly to what would later be known as salsa music. Dominican born composer and bandleader, Johnny Pacheco and Italian-American lawyer, Jerry Masucci started by releasing Pacheco’s “Cañonazo.”

Brooklyn-born Joaquin “Joe” Claussell is a veteran of the New York dance music scene and the music business as a whole. After starting out as a DJ, playing house gigs in some of the city’s hottest dance clubs, he eventually came to own the East Village record store Dance Tracks. He also founded the world/house based record label, Spiritual Life Music, out of the store’s stock room. On this latest release, Claussell is stepping back into the role of DJ and producer, revitalizing the old tracks by means of editing, time starching, rerecording certain parts and recording new parts on top of the old.

Tracklist For Hammock House ‘Africa Caribe’ Disc One:

01. Lou Perez – Africa Fantasy
02. Jai Veda – Undeniable Love
03. Mongo Santamaria – Mambo Mongo
04. Celia Cruz – Chango TK
05. Eddie Palmieri – Lucumi Macumba Voodoo
06. Ray Barretto – Exodus
07. Mongo Santmaria – O Mi Shango
08. Eddie Palmieri – Yoruba Chant
09. Ismael Miranda – Me Voy Ahora