Photo by Nika Milano

Dive, the band of former Beach Fossils member Zachary Cole Smith, has changed its name to DIIV out of respect for the original Dive, the solo project of Belgium experimental punk artist Dirk Ivens.
“We’ve not been contacted by Dirk Ivens or his lawyers, but the short of it is that I don’t really give a fuck what the band is called,” says Smith in a press release. “I originated this project in a bedroom with no internet and didn’t know if it would ever leave the bedroom. ‘DIVE’, the word, was an element of what inspired the project in its genesis, but we’ve outgrown the name and its associations. The band is the same, the music is the same, the future will always be the same. A name is nothing.”
DIIV is Smith along with Devin Ruben Perez, former Smith Westerns drummer Colby Hewitt and Smith’s longtime friend Andrew Bailey. In honor of the name change, the guys have released the new track “Doused” off of their upcoming debut release, Oshin, due out June 26 on Captured Tracks. Stream the hypnotic bass-drenched track:
DIIV also announced a few tour dates, including a show with Grimes to support Oshin and a tracklist. Find it all below.
Tracklist For Oshin:
01. (Druun)
02. Past Lives
03. Human
04. Air Conditioning
05. How Long Have You Known?
06. Wait
07. Earthboy
08. (Druun Pt. ii)
09. Follow
10. Sometime
11. Oshin (Subsume)
12. Doused
13. Home
Tour Dates For DIIV:
05/01 – Detroit, MI – Magic Stick *
05/02 – Toronto, ON – The Shop Under Parts And Labor *
05/03 – Albany, NY – Valentine’s *
05/05 – New York, NY – Mercury Lounge *!
06/23 – Brooklyn, NY – Glasslands (Record release show)
08/09 – New York, NY – RiverRocks At Pier 84 ^
* with Frankie Rose
! with Spectrals
^ with Grimes and Wild Nothing