After two years and ten months, Japan’s Dir En Grey returns to the heavy rock metal scene with its eighth studio album, Dum Spiro Spero, set for release August 3 (The End). The band, known for its die-hard fans around the world, transcends category and genre with its unique perspective on hardcore rock and numerous stylistic changes since inception in 1997. Dir En Grey’s ability to appeal to audiences internationally, while remaining connected to fans in its home country of Japan, is a unique and impressive aspect that the band has built up over its years on tour.

Dum Spiro Spero encapsulates the band’s present sound, and while the album will please its hardcore cult-following fans, the band aims to gain recognition from Western hardcore music fans and musicians as well. The 14-track album includes “Hageshisa To, Kono Mune No Naka De Karamitsuita Shakunetsu No Yami” which is featured on the Saw 3D soundtrack, and a special Limited Edition Bundle featuring the deluxe version of the album, the double LP, digital downloads, a T-shirt, and an autographed poster.

CMJ visited Dir En Grey in Tokyo last year at two successful back-to-back shows at the Budokan in Japan. You can view the interview below.

Tracklist For Dum Spiro Spero:
01. Kyoukotsu No Nari
02. The Blossoming Beelzebub
03. Different Sense
04. Amon
05. “Yokusou Ni Dreambox” Aruiwa Seijuku No Rinen To Tsumetai Ame
06. Juuyoku
07. Shitataru Mourou
08. Lotus
09. Diabolos
10. Akatsuki
11. Decayed Crow
12. Hageshisa To, Kono Mune No Naka De Karamitsuita Shakunetsu No Yami
13. Vanitas
14 Ruten No Tou

Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:
1. Rasetsukoku
2. Amon (Symphonic Ver.)