Intergalactic chill-groove master Declaime is ready to unleash a wave of universal love, multimedia art and careful introspection with the release of his upcoming album Self Study on July 12. A product of deep soul-searching, Self Study includes an hour of biographical footage documenting Declaime’s early days in Oxnard, California as well as trippy album art by Japanese painter Tokio Aoyama. Declaime, aka Dudley Perkins, will release his album via SomeOthaShip Connect, the label he co-founded in 2008 with Self Study producer/life partner Georgia Anne Muldrow.

His newest single “Quartz” provides a glimpse of what the rest of his album will bring: deep old school beats, reflection on his transformation from gang member to funkmaster, lyrics that call for mind-expanding peace and understanding, and the occasional goofy stoner thought (“What if the sun forever goes away?/Ooh, what a crazy thought”). In August, Declaime will hit the road with Muldrow to bring his mellow vibes interplanetary harmony to the masses.

Stream Declaime’s track “Quartz” below:

Declaime feat Ogechi Chieke – Quartz by someothaship

Tracklist For Self Study:
01. Introversion
02. Poet
03. Ship’s Doctor
04. Illicit Funk
05. Self Study
06. Fresh
07. Coonspiracy
08. East Meets West
09. Perfect
10. Dirty Dude
11. Msonedrum
12. Zoom
13. Tribal Warfare
14. Quartz
15. Innervision
16. Lifestyles
17. Movin