Damon Albarn, uber-busy frontman of Gorillaz and Blur, has announced a new solo album titled Dr Dee, which will be released May 8 via Virgin Records. The album is culled from material Albarn wrote for an opera of the same name, which debuted last summer at the Manchester International Festival.
Dr Dee was inspired by Englishman, John Dee, a mathematician, alchemist, philosopher and adviser to Elizabeth I. Albarm has described the music on the album as “strange pastoral folk,” using early English instrumentation along with modern, West African and Renaissance sounds to convey the mood. The album was recorded late last year in Albarn’s West London Studio and also in Salford, UK with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra.
Watch the trailer for Dr Dee and check out the tracklisting, below.

Tracklisting For Dr Dee:
01. The Golden Dawn
02. Apple Carts
03. Oh Spirit Animate Us
04. The Moon Exalted
05. A Man Of England
06. Saturn
07. Coronation
08. The Marvelous Dream
09. A Prayer
10. Edward Kelley
11. Preparation
12. 9 Point Star
13. Temptation Comes In The Afternoon
14. Watching The Fire That Waltzed Away
15. Moon (Interlude)
16. Cathedrals
17. Tree Of Life
18. The Dancing King