Inspiration struck Dan Snaith while he was opening for Radiohead’s 2012 world tour as Caribou. Under the spell of the dance music he heard while visiting the clubs in each tour city, Snaith has made his own full-length dance record titled Jialong (pronounced JOW-long). But he won’t be putting it out under his real name or as Caribou. This release comes from Daphni.
The first proper Daphni track, “Ye Ye,” is included on the nine-song album that will be released October 9 in the U.S. on Merge. A plundering but seductive tune, its video, which you can check out above, is a kaleidoscope of fitting colors and patterns. Find Jialong’s full tracklist below.
Tracklist For Jialong:
01. Yes, I Know
02. Cos-Ber-Zam – Ne Noya (Daphni Mix)
03. Ye Ye
04. Light
05. Pairs
06. Ahora
07. Jiao
08. Springs
09. Long