Photo by Michael Weintrob

Parliament Funkadelic’s starry-eyed bassist, Bootsy Collins, takes off his Funk University mortarboard for a hot minute in order release his first album in five years. The 16-track release, which is (presumably) aptly titled Tha Funk Capitol Of The World, is set to drop on April 26 via Mascot. Engineered in part by Dan Monti (Guns n Roses, Metallica), the album features a tribute to P-Funk All Stars’ Gary “Diaper Man” Shider, who passed away from complications due to cancer last year.

Bootsy called on a number of friends for this one, with guest appearances by a slew of new and old school folk including George Clinton, Bobby Womack, Prince’s princess Sheila E., Chuck D, Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg and, apparently, Jimi Hendrix. In addition to these artists, he has also invited Dr. Cornel West, Rev. Al Sharpton and Samuel L. Jackson in on the recordings, rounding the album out to include voices outside of the musical realm.

Bootsy is set to tour in support of Tha Funk Capitol Of The World, so keep an eye out for dates coming soon.

Tracklist For Tha Funk Capitol Of The World:

01. Intro

02. Hip Hop @ Funk U (feat. Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg and Chuck D)

03. Mirrors Tell Lies (feat. Jimi Hendrix)

04. JB-Still The Man (feat. Rev. Al Sharpton)

05. Freedumb (feat. Dr. Cornel West)

06. After These Messages (feat. Samuel L. Jackson)

07. Kool Whip (feat. Phil Ade and iCandice)

08. The Real Deal (feat. Sheila E. and iCandice)

09. Don’t Take My Funk (feat. Catfish Collins and Bobby Womack)

10. If Looks Could Kill (feat. Bela Fleck, Zionplanet-10 and Dennis Chambers)

11. Minds Under Construction (feat. Buckethead and (Z-Class))

12. Siento Bombo (feat. Olvido Ruiz and Ouiwey)

13. Garry Shider Tribute (feat. George Clinton and Linda Shider)

14. Stars Have No Names (They Just Shine) (feat. Nick Arnold and Chrissy Dunn)

15. Chocolate Caramel Angel (feat. Faith Daniels, Ronni Racket and Casper)

16. Yummy, I Got The Munchies (feat. Musiq Soulchild, Razzberry Hershey and Tom Joyner)