Booker T and his buddy ?uestlove

Blues/soul legend Booker T. Jones has announced the release of his newest album, The Road From Memphis (Anti-), set for May 10. Jones has assembled a star-studded crew for the album, enlisting the help of production team comprised of the Roots’ drummer/bandleader ?uestlove and Rob Schnapf (Beck, Elliot Smith), along with a number of guest appearances throughout the album.

Jones’s upcoming release was recorded by the Daptone’s Gabriel Roth, using the Roots as his backing band. He is joined by vocalists Matt Berninger (The National), Sharon Jones, Yim Yames (My Morning Jacket) and Lou Reed on select tracks as he tells the story of the evolution of soul music through song.

A Rock And Roll Hall Of Famer and three-time Grammy winner, Jones made his name in American soul starting as leader of the Stax Records house band for artists such as Rufus, Otis Redding and Sam And Dave. His versatility as a multi-instrumentalist made him a valuable component on tours and albums, as he helped introduce the soul sound to the pop charts. Jones’s 2009 release Potato Head won the Grammy for Best Pop Instrumental Album and featured original songs as well as covers of Outkast’s “Hey Ya,” Tom Waits’ “Get Behind The Mule,” and Drive By Truckers’ “Space City.”

Tracklist For The Road From Memphis:

01. Walking Papers

02. Crazy

03. Progress (featuring Yim Yames)

04. The Hive

05. Down In Memphis

06. Everything Is Everything

07. Rent Party

08. Representing Memphis (featuring Matt Berninger and Sharon Jones)

09. The Vamp

10. Harlem House

11. The Bronx (featuring Lou Reed)