Last time we heard a new Bishop Allen record, it was 2009 and the indie pop quintet was busy touring North America and Europe, establishing themselves as festival regulars around the world, and as staples of Brooklyn’s indie scene at home in NY. Besides the occasional gig, film score or dating website blog post, the guys have been pretty quiet thus far in the 2010s.
That will change this summer, as Bishop Allen prepares to release Lights Out on August 19, their third studio album via the Austin-based label Dead Oceans.  The lead single off the album, Start Again, is already here and it’s ridiculously catchy.  If it’s any indication of what’s to come, expect an album packed with fun summer anthems to boogie along to right in time for the last few weeks of the season. The band has relocated from Brooklyn to Upstate New York in recent years, but they will be playing their album release show in their old stomping grounds, at Glasslands on August 21. Until then, listen to Start Again below.

Tracklist For Lights Out:
01. Start Again
02. Why I Had To Go
03. Crows
04. No Show
05. Give It Back
06. Black Hole
07. Skeleton Key
08. Good Talk
09. Hammer and Nail
10. Bread Crumbs
11. No Conditions
12. Shadow