Photo by Popperfoto GettyImages

In honor of what would have been Buddy Holly’s 75th birthday, Fantasy/Concord is releasing Rave On Buddy Holly, a 19-song compilation of Holly songs done by some of rock’s biggest talents, and Kid Rock. Included in the mix are some of today’s big acts like the Black Keys, Modest Mouse, My Morning Jacket, Cee Lo Green and Florence And The Machine, as well as some rock veterans such as Paul McCartney, Lou Reed and Patti Smith.

This won’t be McCartney’s first time honoring the early rock icon. After countless inconsistencies and inaccuracies were pointed out in The Buddy Holly Story, a 1978 biographical film starring Gary Busey, Sir Paul put in some work making The Real Buddy Holly Story, a documentary with old footage and interviews that set the story straight.

A lot of memorial compilations end up just being stale, second-rate rehashes of the artists’ original recordings. This however, promises to be different. A press release states that the artists included on the album felt free to “explore radically new interpretations.” Esteemed film-music supervisor Randall Poster, who has worked with Martin Scorsese, was brought in to produce the project. Check out the album’s official site for more details.

Tracklist For Rave On Buddy Holly:
01. “Dearest” – The Black Keys
02. “Every Day” – Fiona Apple and Jon Brion
03. “It’s So Easy” – Paul McCartney
04. “Not Fade Away – Florence And The Machine
05. “(You’re So Square) Baby, I Don’t Care” – Cee Lo Green
06. “Crying, Waiting, Hoping” – Karen Elson
07. “Rave On” – Julian Casablancas
08. “I’m Gonna Love You Too” – Jenny O.
09. “Maybe Baby” – Justin Townes Earle
10. “Oh Boy” – She & Him
11. “Changing All Those Changes” – Nick Lowe
12. “Words Of Love” – Patti Smith
13. “True Love Ways” – My Morning Jacket
14. “That’ll Be The Day” – Modest Mouse
15. “Well…All Right” – Kid Rock
16. “Heartbeat” -The Detroit Cobras
17. “Peggy Sue” – Lou Reed
18. “Peggy Sue Got Married” – John Doe
19. “Raining In My Heart” – Graham Nash