Photo by Megan Thompson

Minneapolis hip-hop artist Charles Andrew Bothwell, better known as Astronautalis, has just announced that his newest record, This Is Our Science, will be released September 13 via Fake Four. Produced by Grammy nominee John Congleton, the 11-track album is Bothwell’s most autobiographical one to date and tells the story of the last seven years of his life, which have been spent mostly on the road.

Astronautalis has his roots in hip-hop and battle rap, but on the new album, he experiments with different genres. He worked with Tegan Quin of Tegan And Sara, Radical Face (Ben Cooper of Electric President), and members of Midlake and the Riverboat Gamblers. For a glimpse into what happened when those forces combined, download new track “Dimitri Mendeleev” here or stream it below.

Tracklist For This Is Our Science:
01. The River, The Woods
02. This Is Our Science
03. Thomas Jefferson Feat. Sims And Rookie Sensation Mike Wiebe
04. Measure The Globe
05. Dimitri Mendeleev
06. Midday Moon
07. Contrails Feat. Tegan Quin
08. Holy Water
09. Secrets On Our Lips
10. Lift The Curse
11. One For The Money