The annual CMJ College Radio Awards, the only radio awards nominated by and voted on by those in the non-commercial and college radio industry, provide an opportunity to recognize the best and brightest for their hard work and dedication. And be sure to check out the full list of nominees, because they’ve all embodied the spirit college radio.

The winners were announced during the always lively College Day (see the always lively recap!). Congratulations to all the winners, especially first-time Station Of The Year winner WTBU!

Radio Awards

Station Of The Year
WTBU, Boston

Music Director Of The Year
Thor Slaughter, KWVA

Specialty Music Director Of The Year
Gary “Turbo” Webb, KRSC

Most Creative Programming
WFMU, Jersey City

Best Community Resource
KVRX, Austin

Best Student-Run, Internet-Only Station
UCLA Radio, Los Angeles

Best Taste In Music
Omar Husain, CJLO

Best Use Of Limited Resources
WPUB, New York

Best Newcomer
Chase Mathey, KUOM

Biggest Champion Of The Local Scene
CJLO, Montreal

Biggest Improvement
KSLU, St. Louis

Will Never Sell Out
Thor Slaughter, KWVA

Industry Awards

Promoter Of The Year
Tenni Gharakhanian, Planetary Group

Promotional Company Of The Year
The Syndicate

Outstanding Leadership In College Radio
Claire Suellentrop, The Syndicate

Best Online Resources
The Syndicate

Best Artist Roster
The Syndicate

Best Taste In Music
Tenni Gharakhanian, Planetary Group

Please Hire Me When I Graduate
Sub Pop

Kinda-Sorta Inappropriately Hitting On Me
Oscar Zubia, Jr., Planetary Group